< back to previous page

Texprint London: special prize winners, chosen by design stars, chosen


Five world-renowned creative luminaries gathered at Texprint London — the must-see presentation of the best new graduate textile designers from the UK — to select the winners of five special prizes (pictured above). The judging panel comprised:

Stuart Stockdale — design director of the great British women’s and men’s brand Jaeger.

Sue Timney — textile designer, interior decorator and stylist, founder of Timney-Fowler.
David Shah — founder of View Publications which publishes the industry bible Textile View.

Orla Kiely — the creative force behind the eponymous interiors and fashion brand.
Sophie Steller — knitwear studio chief and head of creative development at SPINEXPO.

The experts reviewed the work of the 24 selected textile designers — working in print, weave, knit, stitch and mixed media — who are taking part in this year’s mentoring and career development programme. They chose four special winners, each of whom will receive a £1,000 prize, sponsored by The Clothworkers’ Foundation and Liberty Art Fabrics:

David Bradley from the Royal College of Art wins the Body prize, awarded to the best fashion fabric.

Harriet Toogood from the University of Brighton wins theSpace prize, for the best interiors fabric.

Emma Shipley from the Royal College of Art wins the Pattern prize.

Chloe Hamblin from Chelsea College of Art wins the Colour prize.

David Shah commented on the winners’ work on behalf of the judges: “There is some very impressive work here. The future of the European textiles is about craft and sustainability and originality – it’s exciting to see some much great new design.”

In addition to these four winners, Sophie Steller chose six further designers to take part in the SPINEXPO Travel Prize:

Egle Vaituleviciute from Chelsea College of Art.

Karina Klucnika from London Metropolitan University.

Harri Batty from Buckinghamshire New University.

Catherine Tremellen from the Royal College of Art.

Lauren Bowker from the Royal College of Art.

Amy Jo Lewis from the Royal College of Art.

The 10 designers will travel to Shanghai, September 6-8, 2011, to show their work at the exhibition of fibres, yarns and knitted fabrics at SPINEXPO.

All 24 carefully-selected designers were presented to sponsors, press and key decision-makers and leading creatives in the fashion and interiors markets by Texprint’s chairman, Barbara Kennington, who thanked the judges for their careful deliberation and expertise in selecting prize winners.

Texprint London — a gallery-style display focusing on key pieces by each new talent — is a one day only event on Thursday 14 July from 9am to 7.30pm at Chelsea College of Art & Design, Pimlico, London SW1P 4JU. The designers’ full collections will be available to view on request.

Following the trip to Shanghai, all 24 designers will present their work at Indigo, Paris, the textile design exhibition which is part of Première Vision Pluriel, September 20-22, 2011. While at Indigo, the designers’ work will be judged for the Woolmark Texprint Award in support of Campaign for Wool — a new prize recognising design excellence in fabrics created with 60% or more Merino wool.

Notes for editors:

For further information and features on this year’s judges, please go to texprint.org.uk

To arrange an interview with any of the judges or designers and for photography please contact GGHQ:

tel: 020 3002 3656, email: gill@gghq.co.uk

x close

Texprint is supported by the International textile industry and by British charitable foundations, however as an individual you can also make a difference.

If you love textiles and want to support and encourage the next generation of innovative British-trained textile design talent, please donate to become a Friend of Texprint.

Our online giving is simple and secure. You can choose to make a one-off donation or a recurring (monthly) donation by credit card.

Make a secure online donation today by clicking on the Charities Aid Foundation button below. Thank you for your support!

Registered with the Charity Commission as 1000411